The international ITK Alumni Network

More than 4000 coaches from 149 different countries have graduated from the International Coaching Course (ITK) since 1964. The diverse fields of work of our alumni, such as mass and professional sports, sports federations, schools and universities, offer great potential for the positive development of athletic and social structures.

The Department of International Relations (GBIB) of the Sports Science Faculty, which organizes and realizes the ITK Coaching Course, lays great emphasis on the continuous exchange with former students and on bringing them together by means of a global alumni network. Based on a close cooperation with the ITK alumni, the ‘Experts in Global Sports’ project aims at promoting the establishment of a global sports science partnership and at fostering the development of mass sports on an international level.

ITK Alumni Projects

Even after the ITK students have graduated from Leipzig University, the Department of International Relations (GBIB) of the Sports Science Faculty is still committed to them: As a contribution to their professional and personal development in the spirit of the ‘Lifelong Learning’ concept, the GBIB regularly cooperates with local educational institutions and sports federations in order to realize alumni projects in their home countries.

The goals of these projects are as follows:

  • Foster the interdisciplinary approach of combining international practice with academic education provided at the ITK
  • Scientific exchange
  • Further theoretical qualification of the alumni
  • Teach the participants how to put the acquired skills into practice
  • Promote a network of alumni from different years and countries in order to expand the international alumni network
  • Coach and support female PE teachers and coaches in particular
  • Establish a development partnerships of sports science under the heading ‘Experts in Global Sports’
  • Positive influence on the athletic and social structures in developing countries

Since 2013, alumni projects have already taken place in Costa Rica, Brazil, Egypt, Armenia and Uganda.

Das internationale ITK-Alumninetzwerk

Mehr als 4000 Trainerinnen und Trainer aus 149 Ländern haben seit 1964 den Internationalen Trainerkurs absolviert. In den vielseitigen Arbeitsgebieten der Alumni – im Breiten- und Spitzensport, in Sportverbänden, Schulen und Universitäten – liegt ein großes Potenzial zur positiven Entwicklung von sportlichen und gesellschaftlichen Strukturen.

Für den Geschäftsbereich Internationale Beziehungen (GBIB) der Sportwissenschaftlichen Fakultät, der die Trainerkurse organisiert und durchführt, haben der fortbestehende Austausch mit den Absolventen und deren weltweite Vernetzung einen hohen Stellenwert. Ziel ist es, unter der Überschrift ‚Experts in Global Sports’ und in enger Zusammenarbeit mit den Alumni, den Aufbau einer weltweiten Partnerschaft der Sportwissenschaft voranzutreiben sowie die Entwicklung des weltweiten Breitensports zu fördern.

ITK-Alumniprojekte

Der GBIB der Sportwissenschaftlichen Fakultät sieht sich den Alumni des ITK auch nach ihrem Abschluss an der Universität Leipzig verpflichtet: Zu ihrer weiteren beruflichen und persönlichen Unterstützung im Sinne des „Lifelong Learning“ werden regelmäßig Alumniprojekte in den Herkunftsländern der Absolventen organisiert und in Kooperation mit den lokalen Bildungseinrichtungen und Verbänden durchgeführt.

 Ziele dieser Projekte sind:

  • Fortführung des interdisziplinären Schwerpunktes zwischen internationaler Praxis und Hochschulausbildung des ITK,
  • wissenschaftlicher Austausch,
  • theoretische Weiterbildung der Absolventen,
  • praktische Anwendungsschulung erworbener Kenntnisse durch die Teilnehmer,
  • Vernetzung zwischen Alumni unterschiedlicher Jahrgänge und über Ländergrenzen hinaus – Ausbau des internationalen Alumninetzwerkes,
  • Weiterbildung und Förderung insbesondere weiblicher Sportlehrer und Trainer,
  • Aufbau einer Entwicklungspartnerschaft der Sportwissenschaft unter der Überschrift „Experts in Global Sports“,
  • positive Einflussnahme auf sportliche und gesellschaftliche Strukturen in Entwicklungsländern.

Seit 2013 fanden Alumniprojekte in Costa Rica, Brasilien, Ägypten, Armenien und Uganda statt.